Library Board

About the Library Board:

The Library Board was formed in 1899, making it the oldest of the city's Boards and Commissions. Library Board members are appointed by the City Council to serve in an advisory capacity to the City Librarian, City Manager and Council. Some of the responsibilities include: To oversee the Library department’s policies and to accept in the name of the City, money, personal and real property donated for Library purposes. Library Trustees serve a 4-year term and can be re-appointed to a second term.

Meeting Information:

(open to the public)
Date: Fourth Monday of each month
Time: 5:30 PM
Location: Cedar Room, Main Library, 55 W. Third Avenue, San Mateo, CA 94402

Current Board Members:

  • Lisa Diaz Nash, President
  • Elizabeth De Winter, Vice President
  • Dr. Lester Chen
  • Don Hill
  • Kathy Shields
Library Board of Trustees 2 5-28-2019
Want to serve on a board or commission?
As a resident of and registered voter in the City of San Mateo, you are eligible to serve on a board or commission. Interested parties must complete and return the Board and Commission Application.